Engage, Discover, Learn, Succeed…
The Stone Library is a free to use resource for architects, designers, geologists, developers, private buyers and all specifiers – a comprehensive collection of almost every commercially available stone and more – a place to explore and learn about stone for every kind of interior and exterior application.
Located within the Business Design Centre (one of London’s most popular conference and exhibition venues) we are at the heart of the architectural and design capital of Europe and just a stone’s throw from Clerkenwell, Camden, Shoreditch and Kings Cross St. Pancras International.
The Stone Library is open to everyone with an interest in stone and is supported by four sponsor companies who provide a professional and friendly consultancy service. The library’s sponsors can offer specialist advice relating to stone sourcing and uses as well as installation and maintenance.
The Stone Library is perfect for your CPD or presentation event and can be hired for such an occasion. The library also provides a range of facilities including a responsible/sustainable stone sourcing service carried out by our BREEAM AP (Building Reasearch Establishment Accredited Professional) and stone anti-slip rating through use of our portable skid resistance tester. Please see information about joining here.
More about the Business Design Centre
The Royal Agricultural Hall (now the Business Design Centre) is a Grade II listed building, which opened in 1862 in the district of Islington in London, England, for holding agricultural shows. It was the home of the Royal Smithfield Club’s Smithfield Show from 1862 to 1938. It hosted the Royal Tournament from its inauguration in 1880 until the event became too large for the venue and moved to Olympia in the early years of the 20th century.
It hosted the first Crufts dog show in 1891. During the Second World War, the hall was commandeered by the Government, and from 1943, following the destruction of Mount Pleasant sorting office in an air raid, the Parcels Depot was moved to the hall. The hall then remained unused and empty until it was converted to its present use as the Business Design Centre in 1986.